The Training and Assessment Committee members:

Prof. Akhtar Kalam

Chair Independent

Professor Akhtar Kalam has been at Victoria University (VU), Melbourne since 1985 and a former Deputy Dean of the Faculty of Health, Engineering and Science and Head of Engineering of the College of Engineering and Science. He is currently the Head of External Engagement at the College of Engineering and Science, VU. He is also the current Chair of the Academic Board in the Engineering Institute of Technology, Perth, Australia. He is also the Editor in Chief of Australian Journal of Electrical & Electronics Engineering. Further he has Distinguished Professorship position at various universities across globe. Recently he has been appointed as the Editor in Chief of the Australian Journal of Electrical and Electronic Engineering.

Prof Kalam received his B.Sc. and B.Sc. Engineering from Calcutta University and Aligarh Muslim University, India. He completed his MS and Ph.D. at the University of Oklahoma, USA and the University of Bath, UK.

Prof kalam has wide experience in educational institutions and industry across four continents. He has worked with Ingersoll Rand and other electrical manufacturers. He has held teaching appointments at the University of Technology, Baghdad, Iraq and Capricornia Institute of Advanced Education, Rockhampton, Queensland.

Prof Kalam’s major areas of interests are power system analysis, communication, control, protection, renewable energy, smart grid, IEC61850 implementation and cogeneration systems. He has conducted research, provided industrial consultancy and published over five hundred forty two publications on his area of expertise and written over 26 books in the area. More than 35 PhD students have graduated under his supervision and he is an external examiner of many external doctoral students in Australia and overseas. Professor Kalam is a Fellow of EA, IET, AIE, a life member of IEEE and a member CIGRE AP B5 Study Committee.

Gail Baker

Deputy chair Independent

Gail is passionate about providing equal opportunity to all students and has an impressive track record in helping them to achieve success. With over 25 years of her career in post-secondary and international education, she has held a variety of roles including: National Operations Manager at ACU College; Student Services Manager and Senior Coordinator Academic Services at CQUniversity; Associate Director Marketing & Recruitment at MIT; Director of Studies with a number of RTOs and is currently teaching in the Diploma and Bachelor of Community Services with Acknowledge Education and Federation Training. Gail is also a registered social worker with a Masters in Social Work from Monash University and currently works with a number of solicitors and barristers in Melbourne providing counselling to people experiencing family violence.

Ashok Chanda


Dr Ashok Chanda is a business, strategy and human resource professional with more than two decade of experience in various industries such as education, consulting, oil & gas, mining, and logistics sector with an exposure to international business environment. Dr Chanda has strong capabilities for organizational development and driving change management, with a unique blend of business and people management competencies.

After having earned his MBA and Law qualifications, Dr Chanda has Ph.D. in Management from University of South Australia. Dr Chanda has authored three management books which are published internationally. He has also published many research articles in various global research and academic journals. He was also appointed as a Faculty (adjunct) with IIM-Indore in the business strategy area and has been a board member with various School of Businesses.

Beulah Moses

UHE – Academic Manager

Dr Beulah Moses has completed PhD in IT( Specialising in AI), Masters in IT, Masters in Business Administration and Bachelors in Telecom Engineering. She has 20+ years of experienced Academic Leadership as Academic Program coordinator, Head of School, Lead Lecturer and Project manager in Australia and overseas with excellent communication, presentation & interpersonal skills. Strong technical skills in IT , IOT and Cloud Computing. With experience in the areas of student enrolment, curriculum development, course planning, course review, academic policies including academic integrity and academic misconduct policies, procedures, students at risk, student credit policy and outcomes for Higher Education sector in Australia and overseas.